DAY #? OF QUARANTINE

JIANNE PATRICE FELIX | COMM2B | MARCH 31, 2020

LIFE UPDATE: It has been weeks since the community quarantine commenced in Metro Manila. And honestly, it’s getting a bit tiring. Everyday, I wake up at the same thing. I wake up, not being able to go outside, I wake up going through the same routine over and over again. I wake up, frustrated that this is happening now in the country – when everyone was unprepared for a pandemic as powerful as this. When the working force was drastically forced to halt everything, and millions of families were being affected because of it. And it is quite alarming to think that up until now, we aren’t seeing any progress on how the country is containing this pandemic. Don’t get me wrong. I am not, in all honesty, blaming any front liner out there. I love them and we will be eternally grateful for their service and compassion. What angers me are the shortcomings of the government in times like these. I am clueless as to why our beloved front liners are struggling to have a consistent supply of gears and equipment as their protection from the virus. I don’t know much about the funds of the government but I know enough that recently, the Department of Health just bought one million personal protective equipment (PPE) worth of 1.8 billion for our healthcare workers. It’s actually good news but as the DOH said, they are still waiting for the PPEs to be delivered, which is going to take some time. My concern about it is that why is it just now that they bought these equipment? It clearly shows the lack of preparation. These healthcare workers are the ones who are most at risk. And as long as their needs are being neglected, they become more and more prone to the virus.

I know that the government is trying its best to address the current matter. But with the news about some senators, (namely Senators Tito Sotto, Pia Cayetano, Panfilo Lacson, Imee Marcos, Grace Poe, Ramon Revilla Jr., and Francis Tolentino) who were tested for COVID-19, despite being asymptomatic, I can’t help but to think if there are enough competent people in the government to handle the situation. That is why my main concern about this pandemic is if there is a possibility that the Office of the President will extend the current total lock down that is in effect for almost a month already.

Sotto, six other senators get tested for COVID-19
GMA News

Rants aside, I know this community quarantine made people realize a lot of things. Whether they are inside their own houses or they’re out as front liners, this pandemic really is an eye-opener. I’m merely a student locked up inside with a bunch of online activities but I, too, reflected these past few days on how I acted before the lock down and what were my priorities.

Everyone that, personally, knows me would know that I cannot stay inside the house for more than two days. Even my mom would find it weird if I did manage to stay indoors. But lo and behold, it has been 14 days since I stepped beyond our gate. I didn’t dare to go out because my lungs have always been weak since I was a kid and I was too afraid that I’d contract the virus. I realized that, when people don’t really have much of a choice, they are able to do things they thought they didn’t know they can. And I’m one of those people.

Stay Inside GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY
giphy.com

I also noticed that these past two weeks, I didn’t procrastinate with my online activities. It may come as normal for some people but personally, it came as a shock. Ever since college started, I spent most of time cramming and procrastinating when I’m working on an output or requirement. But now, I would always want to sit in front of my laptop, doing whatever that needs to be done. These small things, when put together, can make a big difference in my routine not only as a student but also as a responsible daughter.

Business Productive GIF - Business Productive - Discover & Share GIFs
giphy.com

Before classes were suspended, it was actually our midterms week. We were so busy finishing and completing our requirements while studying for the exams. Around 3 in the afternoon, someone was speaking on the school’s microphone. I was wearing my earphones so I didn’t bother listening to it. I thought it was just the three o’clock prayer. But it sounded different. And I saw that everyone was cheering and jumping on their seats. I asked my friend what was going on and she said that classes were suspended due to the COVID-19 outbreak. And thinking back, I was selfishly happy. Maybe because we all thought that we would have a break from school. Plus, we’ll get to have more time to study for the exams. I thought it was going to be worth it. Little that I know that it was going to end this way. I never thought that I’d say to myself that I’d rather go to school than be stuck here in the house due to unfavorable conditions.

School is fun GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY
giphy.com

That much needed break isn’t important anymore. I know I took everything for granted. I took for granted all the better things my life offered before this pandemic. And now, here we are, never really having the assurance of a better tomorrow. But we hope for it. And as Filipinos, we’ll get there. Our resiliency and persistence brought us to many beautiful ends. And I’m sure this is going to be one of them.

Leave a comment